Okay, so I’ve been seeing a lot…I mean A LOT…of style blog posts in which people are wearing colorful denim–by which I mean, colors other than blue or black. Red. Green. Pink. Yellow. Some pastel. Some neon. But all COLORFUL.

And here’s the thing–I grew up in the 80s. When someone says, “colored denim,” I have visions of high-waisted, peg-legged, neon-colored jeans that flattered exactly 0.01% of the population and were usually paired with a stretchy bodysuit and a scrunchy that matched perfectly and was worn around a side-of-the-head ponytail. It’s a bad trip, man. So “colored denim” leaves a pretty bad taste in my mouth–bad associations!

But the posts I’ve seen lately have me possibly maybe changing my mind. See, the people wearing them are looking very modern and contemporary and pairing their denim with much chicer tops and slicker accessories.

Modcloth has a pair of lipstick red denim pants that I am particularly drawn to; red would fit easily into my already-existing wardrobe fairly gracefully and isn’t QUITE as distinctly 80s (in my opinion!) as pastel or neon shades…

So what do you think? To do colorful denim, or not to do colorful denim?

 

Royal blue denim by Wendy’s Lookbook

Highlighter yellow denim by My Style Pill

Green denim by Kendi Everyday

Red denim by Cuillere a Absinthe

